FIM2010–Minimizing Requests Generated During Object Changes

One of the things I’ve noticed is that I’m not overly fond of is the sheer number of requests that are generated when I need to create flag attributes or other items that are done when a group is initialized or changed in a manner which updates other downstream values. I’m looking into a couple methods for reducing these to make the overall systems more manageable and intelligible to the users who will ultimately be responsible to support them.

For example, I have a few situations where there are six different attributes that are being set to identify whether attributes are present or not. These are then in turn used to define criteria based groups and RCDC visibility. The problem is that this initial request generates a total of seven immediate requests (not to mention any other actions that are taken when the objects that may be triggered when the default values are set!)

Anyway, I strongly recommend that you look at the different tools out there, a personal favourite of mine being the FIM PowerShell workflow activity that was developed  coworker of mine, Craig Martin.

Using this tool, it is possible to perform all the logic and tests on the object within a PowerShell script and then commit all the changes in a single request. Something I have to admit, I like because it removes some of the clutter than can appear in the search results for requests.

The other option is a custom workflow activity to do all the work for you. It all depends on where your comfort factor is. I just like Craig’s tool because you add the script as a configuration item in the portal GUI rather than having to ensure that DLL versions are up to date around your environment.

If you want to follow another FIM Blog, I recommend Craig’s highly. The link is http://www.identitytrench.com

Also, Craig will be covering this during the FIM pre-conference workshop at TEC in San Diego this year! So if you’re going to be there, seriously consider attending his pre-conference workshop on Sunday. Tell him Blain sent you.. Smile

This entry was posted in Forefront Identity Manager 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to FIM2010–Minimizing Requests Generated During Object Changes

  1. I agree this is a vital consideration – I use the custom workflow activity option myself with great results (and I just have the one generic “update a FIM object(s)” activity)

Leave a comment